Hardware upgrade path?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to using Shotcut, having only used it for a couple of months. I’m currently running it on somewhat of a dinosaur desktop computer: AMD FX6300 CPU, 8 GB RAM, and 1 GB GeForce GT430 video card.

Most of what I do is editing video from youth sports, pulling together several game clips and adding some simple filters to provide persistent on-screen information like scores - thus there is almost always one or more filters to be rendered at all times throughout the timeline. I am using proxy editing with 360p preview videos to make the editing process more manageable.

When I render a 40-minute 1080p 60fps video, using MP4/H.264 and CRF 20, Shotcut is taking about 5-6 hours to complete the export. (For what it’s worth, DaVinci Resolve takes a similar amount of time, but ends up with a file more than twice as large as Shotcut.)

Question: which hardware upgrades will most directly reduce rendering time? Since I am on a budget, I was considering either a faster “budget” GPU (~4GB, maybe something like GT1050 Ti or Radeon RX 570), or an upgrade to my CPU and RAM to something more like an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 with 32 GB DDR4 RAM.

This is only a hobby for me, hence the reason I am not going all-in to spend a ton of money on a fully-loaded setup. I’d appreciate any insight from the community about which upgrade(s) will provide the best bang for my amateur buck.

The linked thread below should provide a good understanding of Shotcut internals so you can decide what hardware best fits your editing and encoding needs. TL;DR on the GPU is that I would personally not recommend a 10xx GPU for Shotcut under any circumstance. It will barely get used during editing, and its encoder is worse than a GTX 1650 Super.

Hi Austin,