Why is my export different (lagging video) from what I see in preview?

Sorry in advance if this question will be fairly high level but I’m extremely new to both video editing and Shotcut. Basically, I’m pretty happy with the timing of my production when I’m playing it through the preview window. To my surprise, I the resulting timing of the content in the exported .mp4 is just a bit “off”. The video seems to lag just a touch against the audio. Obviously, I don’t understand why this would be and I’m a bit surprised as I’d expect preview to lag (if anything) rather than the export. It’s not a tremendous lag but enough frames to make it noticeable and just feel “off”.

Just looking for general feedback or possibly even a list of things I might want to check in terms of having what I see in preview match what export spits out.

Thanks in advance

Trying to help it occurs to me to ask:
-Shotcut version and operating system.
-Export configuration, do you use a certain preset?
-Do you use hardware encoding for export?
-What is the configuration of your project?

In any case, I detected in one of my latest projects a desynchronization between audio and video, when I export using a hardware encoder (in my case h264_nvec) so I tried disabling the hardware encoder (it is disabled by default) and I exported (libX264 ) and that desynchronization disappeared.
I did this in the Youtube export preset without modifying any additional parameters.

If you are using Hardware Encoding, try switching it off.

Member @jonray had this tip for another member with a similar problem to yours:

This has happened to me before. I found a workaround was to advance the audio track forwards by 7 frames (I presume your audio is on a separate track). It seems out of synch in the preview but synched in the export.
You can test just a portion of your video by using the “timeline to source” feature.

See also this thread: