White border not really white

Hi,

I’m a beginner in shotcut. It’s very intuitive, but I encounter a problem with a white border mask around my videos. So perhaps I use it the wrong way.

I have a video, and I add in a second layer the mask (a png file with only white border, the other part of the file is transparent). I join the caption of the configuration and the files.
You can see that in the preview area, the border is white, as in the png file. Preview image export joined.
But after rendering the video (I use the YouTube preset without any modification), the white border is light gray, and when uploading to youtube, the difference between the white background of the page and the border of the video is very visible.

Original file : white is #ffffff, rendered file, white is something like #eaeaea

But more than the border, when analyzing the two images (from the rendering window, and from the target file), the target video seem to be insipid. It’s not only the border, seems to be all the video that loosed contrast and has some fog on it.

Do I miss something in the parameters ?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help.
JeT

As a new user, I can post only one picture with my message… So I merged the three into one :wink: Hope it will be visible.

What program are you using to view the final video? Are you opening it back in Shotcut? Or are you viewing it with some other video player?

Also, providing information about your Shotcut version and computer will be helpful.

Hi,

My shotcut version is 17.09.04, running in win10.
My capture was from MediaPlayerClassic-HC.
I tried to play the video file in VLC, and it was the same.

I didn’t try to open it again in shotcut, so I just did it, and the white borders… are white.
Can’t understand.

I just uploaded it in youtube to show the problem… I would like to have no color difference between the white background of youtube… and the border of the video.