Vertical track management rumination

This post is a rumination on the ancient and contentious topic of track management, particularly vertical re-arrangement or lack thereof prompted when I wanted to do just that. See Rearrage tracks / move tracks up/down and likely others. I am not advocating a change in feature development priorities here. I have scrolled the Suggestions category.

After reviewing many prior posts on this topic I suggest there are several competing issues, multiple use cases with very different development effort, that prior posters may not be aware or have considered. In my past lives at times I was a software developer so I am making educated guesses regarding development effort and implementation design in the following note without having examined the Shotcut source code in detail. I use the term “mute” applied to both audio and video tracks to mean remove that track from the rendering process.

Conceptual Item)

There is a fundamental difference in the rendering process between video tracks and audio tracks - audio tracks additively mix together (subject to mixer settings), video tracks overlay in a precedence order (Z-order rendered result subject to opacity parameters). In the Shotcut Timeline GUI, the relative vertical positions of video tracks is used to express the video pixel overlay precedence for non-null, non-transparent pixels. In these senses for rendering, including preview rendering, the video rendering cares about vertical video track position in the GUI whereas the audio rendering does not.