Two video tracks used, filter in one of them makes the other one invisible

Hello there,

I’m just beginning to work with shotcut and have the following problem:
I have several smart phone videos which are unfortunately made in upright position.
In order to make it look more smoothly I used on additional video track an copied the video into the second track and blurred it over the full size of the screen as explained in this youtube tutorial:

This works perfectly and looks fine for me.

My problem appears as soon as I want to add another filter in the upper video. Suddenly the video in the lower track (the background video) is no longer visible.
This is independent on which filter I use.

Can someone help me and let me know how I can use filters and still see the video in the lower track in the background?

Thanks!
Olivia

S’il vous plait, pouvez-vous nous faire une ou plusieurs copies d’écran sur laquelle nous pouvons voir les clips sur la timeline ainsi que les filtres que vous avez déjà appliqués avant de constater le problème et nous dire le filtre que vous souhaitez appliquer et sur quel clip.

Please, can you make one or more screenshots where we can see the clips on the timeline as well as the filters you have already applied before you have problem and tell us which filter you want to apply and to which clip.

1 Like

I think I have seen this also; I was very busy and simply moved on at that time.

Careful documentation of how this happens would be very useful to me, and probably to others as well.

This sounds like something I experienced a couple of months ago. I pulled in a video shot in a “portrait” orientation (like the typical cellphone video), centered it, and then put a stretched and blurred copy of the same video behind it. I was attempting to produce something like this: