remove 32:9 borders and convert to 16:9 without borders

Hello,

I am an amateur video editor and I have recorded alot of desktop video’s in 32:9 widescreen, though the visible screen was only 16:9, the sides were just black borders.
Now I would like to remove these borders in the widescreen 32:9 video and reoutput the video as 16:9.
I searched google, tried few things in my favorite app shotcut and also in other apps but everything sofar was unsuccessfull. I need a little help.
Here is a link to one of my videos with borders;
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvaBDE1eyHQ)

Thanks in advance

Example image I made up for this demonstration:
Source image from Pixabay.

Ensure your Video Mode is set to 1080p or something with a 16:9 aspect ratio.

1 Like

You also can use the size, position and rotate filter using the zoom factor.

1 Like

Open Shotcut>Video Mode =1080p HD>Drag and drop the video. (By default the clip size will fit to the canvas.

Increase the size to 200% through the size, position and rotate filter (of the clip).

1 Like

wow it works now, thank you very much everyone. I tried every method you all have given me and they all work, it is all about starting the correct video mode i see. <3

One more question; I have alot of recordings in 32:9 with a resolution of 3840x1080. But the recorded screen was (what i think is) 21:9, rest was also filled with borders.
You can see an example here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjrUWhAYxYw)

Now I also tried the same method for this recoding, open video mode in 21:9 with various diffrent resolutions, but none of them worked like it does with 32:9 to 16:9.

What am I missing here, or doing wrong ?

Thanks alot, seriously!

I see the screenshot gets quite unreadable. Here is the additional screenshot for the properties in 32:9 screenshot of shortcut, maybe its of some use.

Create a custom Video Mode as such:
shotcut_2024-06-29_05-24-16

Crop: Source, with center checked.