Relative file paths for project file dependencies and improve file association detection

I’ve been using Shotcut for well over 18 months, and I must say, it has improved a lot in terms of functions and stability since I started used it. Keep up the good work! With that being said, I want to suggest a feature that would improve the Quality of life, if a project is moved in its entirety.

I am moving a few projects to a new external hard drive, and I’m a little tired of having to correct for every file in a given project. As you can see, I keep my dependencies for a project either in sub-folders or, in this case, in the same directory of the project file.

I’m moving several projects with this or a similar structure, and it’ll be rather annoying to have to remap all dependencies to a new directory. Even if it automatically detected the correct files in the same directory where I find one asset, that would be a huge improvement, but Ideally, I would appreciate Shotcut project files supporting a relative file path (That is, something like “./Video/MyVideo.mp4” instead of “C:/Users/User/Videos/Projects/MyProject/Video/MyVideo.mp4”) To make moving projects and their assets less of a pain.

This would be a great feature to have, especially for someone like me who is archiving their old projects and assets for later use. I wouldn’t have to reset the paths for all of my assets, or at least, most of them.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I hope you keep doing what you’re doing! :+1:

Shotcut already uses relative paths for files that in the same folder or a sub-folder of the project file. You said you are already doing this. Are you doing this organization before you create the project (or as you work on the project just before importing the file)?

1 Like