Questions From A Newbie Editor

Well, this is officially my 1st post here. Hopefully, I can get the answers that I need.

As the title suggests/implies, I’m a bit of a newbie editor who is still learning certain things as I go. [Not sure if editing will become a career for me in the future; for now, it’s more like a hobby.] Anyway, I was recommended to use ShotCut for part of a small personal project I’m working on, but I have some questions:

1.) Part of the process involves taking certain tracks I want downloaded from Youtube & encoding/converting some of the files to an AAC codec. The files are mainly mp3, webm, & mkv. Now, I know converting from does improve the overall audio quality a bit, but what about converting/encoding from webm or mkv to AAC? There shouldn’t be any problems or loss in audio quality, right? :thinking:

2.) Up until now, I have NEVER used ShotCut before. So, how easy is it to encode/convert the way that I’m wanting to?

3.) Lastly, even though ShotCut is opensource, does it have any advantages over the free version of DaVinci Resolve? [Just curious about the differences & if ShotCut is easier to use or not.]

For anyone wondering, I am FULLY AWARE of copyright/infringement that can occur when you use something like this without permission. No worries though, I contacted each of the artists & got their permissions to use the tracks in my project.

Anyway, if you need more details or wish to ask me any questions you might have or can think of, please feel free to do so & I’ll get back with you! I would very much appreciate it if someone knowledgeable/experienced enough can help answer these questions I have!

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

Q 1& 2 : Depends on how you export it. Different cosec got its own pros and cons.
Q3 : If you’re an advance editor, use Davinci. Shotcut never made for advance level. If you want an intermediate editor, Shotcut can get the job done.
Have a nice day/night.