PC Hardware: the good and the bad

Hello,

i am new to video editing, but i got a GX80 with 4K and i want to change my laptop to desktop for smoothier editing. My Laptop is actually Thinkpad T420s with i7-2640M, 16GB RAM, SSDs and only hybrid onboard graphics: Intel HD3000 / Nvidia NVS4200M Optimus.

I prefer Windows 10 because of some other software, otherwise linux is my way to go.

I want to have 100% smooth editing / adding files / add effects / preview.

But what graphic cards are needed for 4K? System Requirements says 4-core CPU, 16GB RAM, OpenGl 3.2 or DirectX11 - but which constellation? And tomorrow for Shortcut? Which way they will go?

Besides the mandatory SSD(s), i would like to get your setup in short, if you have a very smooth running Shotcut :slight_smile:

Mainboard / CPU / RAM / GPU/VRAM

Or, if it`s laggy, please give info about this bad constellation.

Is it better to have 64/32GB DDR3 or 32/16GB DDR4? Which CPU / RAM does work well? Should i prefer OpenGL or DirectX all in all? Better RAM than CPU? I just tried Videopad, which does not use any of my 16GB. Don`t know, why. Now i will try the famous Shotcut to get a cheap system with good and simple workflow :slight_smile:

Thank you very much :slight_smile:

I also have a GX85 (the USA version of your GX80). Unfortunately, Shotcut is unlikely to give you a smooth editing experience directly on those files in native 4K (plus filters and multiple tracks) no matter how much hardware you throw at it. Shotcut is not designed to do processing in GPU the way DaVinci Resolve is. You can have a smooth enough experience if you put your 4K clips on a 1080p timeline. Or you might have a smooth enough experience if you first transcode your 4K clips to an intermediate format like DNxHR or ProRes and then drop them on a 4K timeline. If anyone else has found a hardware setup that is smooth at multi-track 4K, I’d love to hear about it!

This is pretty well covered in another recent post: