Pale colors in the editor and exported video compared to original

Hi!

First, I’m completely new to Shotcut and video editing. I’ve watched youtube tutorials with the basics. But now I have a problem that I do not know how to solve. And I don’t know what it’s called so I don’t know what to search for. I checked the FAQ and tried searching without luck. Sorry if this has been posted before but I just failed to find it.

Either way, when I’m exporting a video the exported video has brighter and somewhat weaker colors. It kind of looks like there is a white layer with high opacity over the video. I uploaded an image to illustrate the problem.

I have watched youtube videos with codec settings etc. I use the settings from this video https://youtu.be/YMLkX3iyeXE. so I use the H.264 High Profile (or the youtube one, but the color are equally pale regardless) with libx264 codec, quality based VBR (no idea what those are) and I increase quality to 100 %.

Does anyone know why my exported video gets so pale and what I can do to fix that?

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this has been up already, I just couldn’t find it.

Your original video is probably HDR, a workaround is to use the Covert in the properties panel and check BT.709 color space.

I am not entirely sure but I don’t think you can fully work on + export HDR content in Shotcut. You can search the forums to see more details from previous discussions.

Hi!

Thank you! I will check that out. I just checked settings and the Playstation 5 saves recordings in HDR. I turned that off and will try to save a video from it without HDR and see if that makes any difference. :slight_smile:

I tried saving a video without HDR and it didn’t make any difference. The video is till this pale like in my example image above.

When I check the color space in properties it says: ITU-R BT.2020.
I don’t even know how to change that :slight_smile: