I'm helpless at random clicking

forgive what some might think of as humblebrag, but i’ve been a photographer for 55 years and a so-called computer professional for 35 years. and yet i’m unable to figure out how to use photo editors and now that i’m trying to learn video editors, they are as bad or worse.

bear in mind that i detest graphical computer games and i was forced screaming and crying into the non-command-line, i.e., gui world. but now the mouse has spoiled me and i’ve forgotten how to use all my linux and unix and, yes dos platforms. i recently got a gh5 to teach myself video but adobe screwed me over on an update to premiere elements and they couldn’t fix it and in addition, i can no longer run any adobe products because of their stupid drm and when their update corrupted their drm file, they are completely unable to fix it. anyway, a different topic for a different time.

so let’s start at the very beginning. i have two video clips. i simply want to join them. i go to google and it tells me that quicktime will do this and the procedure is pretty easy–you just drop both files onto the timeline… which isn’t there, btw, until you do something to make it show up. see, this is what i hate about computer games–i once threw a game in the trash when i finally resorted to a cheat book and found out i was supposed to be clicking random grains of sand on a beach where i started off shipwrecked. haven’t bought one since and that was 1982 or so.

anyway, so i exported my combined file, but youtube mangled it and didn’t use the original quality and i could find no way to output my clips at the original quality using quicktime. so i figured i’d bite the bullet and for now just upload them to youtube and join them. but no dice–youtube has removed the video editor which used to do this. which caused another youtube search where i found shotcut highly rated for beginners who only wanted to do the things they used to be able to do on youtube.