High(er) End audio quality

Hi everyone,

First my compliments for the developers of Shortcut. Your doing a great job and I wish I had discovered Shotcut earlier.

Here is my question: As an amateur composer I wish to upload my compositions and Music to Youtube. Unfortunately Shotcut seems to be concentrating on Graphics more then on Audio (This is my personal impression). As I look at the different Audio rendering possibilities. I can choose a whole lot of different settings. Can you give my some advice which format I could choose to enhance my Audio?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Ticon65

Ideally, use an export format that supports uncompressed or lossless compressed audio. That means not MP4 or WebM even though YouTube encoding guidelines suggests using MP4 with AAC compressed audio! If you can tolerate the long upload time, try using ProRes (there is a preset for this). The default preset outputs uncompressed audio, but you can also change Export > Audio > Codec to ā€œalacā€ (Apple Lossless Audio Codec), which will save a little space.
If you cannot tolerate the upload speed, then just use MP4 default export settings but crank up the AAC quality all of the way by setting the bitrate to 512k.
Yet another option is to start with defaults (click Reset if needed to get back to default), change Format to ā€œmatroskaā€ and Audio > Codec to ā€œflacā€ (Free Lossless Audio Codec). Give the filename a ā€œ.mkvā€ filename extension.
I hope that helps.

Thanks for your quick response!

Iā€™ll try your suggestions in a few days and, of course let you know what works best for me.

When I export the audio from the program I use (Cubase) I already have to convert the audio-file to ā€œWav32ā€.
Then I have to synchronize it with the (separate) video of the recording itself. It doesnā€™t seem to be possible to record Cubase + audio at the same time, like you would with a video-game.
Anyway, like I said Iā€™ll give it a try :wink: