Help, please. Video progressively out of sync

Hi guys, I’m new to the boards and I have very little experience using the program.
I started using it last year just to cut some clips here and there nothing too difficult. I have managed to learn a few things watching youtube tutorials but now I need to do more complex tasks and I’m not getting good results.

I have downloaded a few cam clips but some of them have really bad audio and I’m trying to fix them.
Some of these clips begin on sync but after a couple of minutes the sound starts to go ahead of the video. Strange thing is video and audio are the same lenght.

This is tricky problem. I have already tried some fixes without any luck. Please, can you help me.

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum.

There are many threads on this subject; many people have experienced this (and I am one).
It always comes down to the same thing: Variable Frame Rate (VFR) original video material.

The solution is always the same: Convert the video to Constant Frame Rate (CFR) as the FIRST step of the video project.

Shotcut provides as tool for this (the Convert button), or you can use a custom codec to get the speed/quality/size compromise that best fits your needs.

1 Like

Also Try Settings - Synchronisation

Thanks for your help guys. I’ll try your suggestions when I have a little time and then report back.

If you still can’t get the sync right, I use DAW Reaper software that allows you to stretch and shorten the audio track and at the same time display the video for reference.
Sometimes the mismatch is not linear and that’s when I use this method outside of Shotcut for audio only.
I recently posted a screenshot about an audio sync on a dub that didn’t match the original sound.

I tried what you said but it didn’t fix the problem. I tell you what I did.