Has Anyone Tried This Rotoscoping Workaround?

I’ve never used Krita before, but sounds like a good workaround. They do use Shotcut in their example.

A few months ago I did something somewhat similar of what they show in the article, but with Photoshop.

https://streamable.com/gdpnj4

From Shotcut I exported as a jpeg sequence the part where the man walks in front of the screen, then imported each jpeg (30 images total) in photoshop to erase the left part of the background. Finally imported my modified images in Shotcut and did this transition.

I just downloaded Krita to test it. They say in the article you can use keyframes. That sounds interesting. It might speed up the process.
But damn… Another program to learn! :grin:

4 Likes

This is actually the effect I want to accomplish (chroma keying). I could care less about rotoscoping. The problem is having to key it frame by frame is a pain in the ass

1 Like

If I remember well, it took me around 45 minutes to process all 30 images.

2 Likes

It’s definitely a key professional functionality that would take Shotcut to the next level

2 Likes

Did you download Krita ?
The interface is nice. But look how much memory it takes compared to Photoshop.
Both freshly launched. Not working on anything yet.
krita

1 Like

Yikes. I’m staying with Photoshop

1 Like

Krita on Linux may perform better than on W10. Most software ported to W10 originally from Linux seems to run better on my Ubuntu Studio than on W10.
I was recently working with Darktable and while it ran smoothly in Ubuntu Studio, it was a bit of a problem in W10.
Something similar happens in startup speed and responsiveness with other software like Inkscape or even GIMP.
Perhaps I will do some comparative testing.

2 Likes

Thanks @ejmillan
Do you use Krita yourself ?
And if so have you tried that new Animation feature they mention in the article ?

2 Likes