Exported video size over three times larger with default Youtube settings

Hey guys. This is my first time posting here. I’d like to make it very clear that I am brand new at editing, shotcut, everything when it comes to making videos. I recently started learning some basic video editing for my youtube channel. So far so good, I only need shotcut for some basic stuff so it’s great! Fade in/out, some text here and there, really basic things.

But I’ve noticed something and I have no idea what I’m doing wrong. I’m using the default youtube export (just click youtube preset and then export basically), and I’ve noticed that the size of the exported video, no matter the size, becomes around triple the size. Just now I had a 2.58gb video (downloaded a stream I did on twitch). Original video was 1 hour and 54 minutes. I cut OUT parts of the original file (now making it 1hr 45 mins), applied a gain filter to increase the overall volume, placed a fade in/out at the beginning and end of the video, and now the exported file is 9.08gb. Can anybody assist me with providing some basic settings that I could check? I don’t know what I’ve done wrong and 9gb feels like something is wrong considering I even cut big chunks of the original video out. I repeat I am extremely new at this so please bear with me. Are there any settings that I need to double check are ticked on/off? I have a decent nvidia card (gtx 1070) if that makes any difference to the settings.

Thank you very much.

1 Like

It is only wrong if you can not meet your goals with the file. Is 9 GB a problem for you? How does the quality look. If the quality looks good, and you are able to use the file, then there is no problem.

The final file size is a result of many parameters - including the video mode and the quality/bitrate of the export. If you want the file to be smaller, you can reduce the image resolution in the video mode, or reduce the quality setting in the advanced export panel.