Erasmus first video ever in Shotcut!

Hi guys,
I am a newbie to shotcut. This is my first video created for my Erasmus exchange in Germany. Could you please share your advice and opinion how to improve my first video. I know that text is too small, I did not know how to change that, because in the preview it was showing with a good size, and then I exported and this happened. Thank you very much!

9 Likes

That is fantastic!

I want to know exactly how you made the video-in-phone scene in 1:05-1:07.

I have been envisioning such a scene for a video-in-video that I am currently making.

1 Like

Thanks! This is a green screen (red actually ;)). I just displayed a red colour on my phone screen and then applied a filter on it called ‘chromakey’ and another video as a lower layer.

1 Like

Well done. I like the choice of music and the timing of the cuts. I like the creative transitions as well. You seem to have made good use of Shotcut.

1 Like

I was tentatively planning on using Size, Position, Rotate in Distort mode to match to my screen, because then I need the video to dynamically stretch out and fill the entire screen.

I had not thought of displaying a blank chromakey-green screen on my device.

It’s a “let’s watch this video together” transition.

I know Chromakey; here is one I am currently working on.

1 Like

Amazing job! It’s hard to believe this is your first video. You definitely have that cinematic eye. Your use of in-camera transitions is very creative. You obviously planned out some shots knowing you will use those effects later.

A couple of nit-picks but nothing major:

• When you slowed down the fountain shot at 00:35, you probably didn’t have enough frames to slow it down that slow which ended up juddery.
  • The wipe transition at 00:53, you could’ve waited a little longer until the wipe went all the way across the screen before you blacked it out.