Create video sequence from .jpg images

I’m very new to shotcut, forgive me if this is a repeat question.

I have about 1800 .jpg images that were taken at 3 images per second interval (total 600 seconds). My hope was to create a video from these images and play it back at 30 frames per second for a total of 60 seconds.
I’ve been reading numerous posts on this forum and I tried adjusting to 60 fps under “settings” and “image sequence” and “duration” under “Properties” but overall I can’t figure out how to make this happen.

Is there a way to do this with Shotcut?
Is there a youtube video or tutorial that explains how to do this?
Is there another software tool that does this sort of operation?

Thanks

1 Like

Save yourself the headache and use MakeAVI, a free OS utility I use for my time lapses.
Shotcut is very likely to crash trying to import an 1800 image sequence.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/makeavi/files/

1 Like

thank you. that’s what I was looking for. It crashed tring to load the first 50 images.
… 8 minutes later: That’s awsome… the download and to create the video litterally only took a few minutes.

You da man!!!

Cool, glad to help.

I consider Shotcut to be a video editor that is, to edit video rather than a JPG>Video maker.

It’s fine to add a still image here and there to a sequence of video clips, but at this stage even importing a single JPG will often cause Shotcut to stall momentarily. More than one image at a time will display the (Not responding) flag.

It is actually very easy and works fine in Shotcut. You just open the first image, click Properties, click the Image Sequence checkbox, and Export.

SC stops responding and white screens if you have many images (which of course one does for a time lapse sequence, such as the OP’s 1,800 jpg files) It also takes much longer to load them all, even with only a dozen photos. But crashing leaves no chance to get to Export.