Continue last frame of clip until next clip

I used Shotcut to make this video, and it’s been pretty great to use. I’m about to make another, and I just have one thing that was kind of a pain last time.

I have a lot of clips that I need to cut up to sync with the audio narration. I end up with a swiss cheese of clips. There are hundreds of gaps for me to fill. What I want is for the last frame of the previous clip to continue until the next frame starts. What actually happens is I just get a black screen. So last time, I had to export the last frame to a png, then import it, then size it to fit the gap. It worked, but it was super annoying to do.

Is there a setting I can change to get the last frame to continue in between the clips, rather than showing a black screen? If not, is it possible to write a plugin to do this? I’m a coder so I’m happy to write the plugin myself if it’s possible. The docs say that only filter plugins are supported atm, but it’s not clear to me what that means for my use case.

Either way you may need to extend the Duration in Properties. If the last clip is at the very end (untrimmed) of the source clip, then it repeats the last frame to fill after extending the clip further on the timeline. If you want to repeat the last frame of a trimmed clip, you use the Time Remap filter. Go the last frame of the clip, add the filter, in the filter UI click >, set the value to 0 in the dialog that opens, and then extend the clip.

Time Remap may require your clip to be converted if it has B frames, which might be inconvenient even though it does automatically replace instances of the clip to the converted counterpart for you. Since your last video, there is one thing to make using an exported frame easier: an automatic filename. If you end up going that route, also note that exporting a frame adds the file to the top of Recent; so you can double-click it to open it and then drag it from the player.