Can you take out wind noise?

Is it possible to take out wind sounds in video? Or make audio sound better?

1 Like

Try the High Pass filter or the Band Pass filter and play with the settings.
If there is also voices in the audio, after removing the wind sound, you’ll probably need to adjust the volume (Gain/Volume filter) and then add some low frequencies back (Bass & Treble filter)

2 Likes

I wish.

A did a quick test with some audio found online.
I used the Band Pass filter.

It’s not perfect, I’m not an expert and I didn’t experiment very long with the settings, but there is an improvement.

https://streamable.com/50g5tt

5 Likes

@MusicalBox wow I’ll say. that’s a big improvement… I’ll have to try these filters… I often pickup wind noise while shooting RC slope gliders perhaps it won’t be as distracting if I use these. Thanks :grinning:

1 Like

For the purposes of that clip, it is a tremendous improvement.

He is dealing with deep wind rumble, and is of an age that the upward shift of the energy peak in his voice tones is contextually not inappropriate.
The little bit of wind noise that is left is the high-frequency “blue noise” which is the part that plagues my videos. Filtering it out removes that part of human speech which forms the letters “T”, “S” and “H” and differentiates “PA” from “BA”.
:frowning_face:
I have sought and obtained professional advice on my case; the recommendations were brands and models of microphones and wind reducing “Dead Cat” microphone covers.

Of course, the best way to remove all the winds noises from a video is to eliminate them before recording.

The audio I used is from this YouTube video.

The technique he uses is simple and seems very effective

6 Likes

It could be done in various more ways, but if you need an free and totally professional solution then you can install audacity on you PC, And then you can watch tutorials on audacity. I also use audacity for most of my audio works.