Black border issues when using clips that contain different resolutions

Hello,
I’m somewhat new to video editing.
I know this subject has been talked about in various ways in this forum
as I browsed the forum searching “resolution”, etc.
I have a camera that takes videos at resolutions
640x480 and 1280x720.
Months ago I took a bunch of 640x480 videos.
Now I do all at 1280x720.
I do wish to use some of the older 640x480 clips in my projects,
though most of the clips I use in projects now are 1280x720.

I’m wondering if there’s a common way in Shotcut for dealing with a project
that uses clips with various resolutions. Like perhaps a preferred method for dealing with clips of various resolutions within a project.

Basically I’m trying to get rid of the black border issue in the final export.

I’d like to somehow enlarge the 640x480 to fill the screen, but in handbrake
I cannot get 640x480 to get any bigger. I think the 640 can go up, but the 480 number seems to not budge.

I probably just need to do a bunch of Shotcut export tests with various export settings.

Mainly I’m writing this to see if there’s a common workflow for getting no black borders
in the playback on my tv when I use various video clip resolutions in my Shotcut projects.

Thanks for any ideas.

You’re dealing with two different aspect ratio’s.
640x480 is 4:3 aspect ratio (in the picture below, green is 4:3)
1280x720 is 16:9 aspect ratio. (blue color)
169to43aspect

To have no border, you have two choices.

• Crop top & bottom of the 4:3. (maintains the 16:9 ratio)
  • Crop left & right of 16:9. (maintains the 4:3 ratio)

You could add a decorative border around the 4:3 to keep the 16:9.
You could have the 4:3 all the way to the right with some sort of picture or text on the left.

Going off on a tangent here… Have video in 16:9, say of waves crashing, have that be your border, then put in the 4:3 video.