Big delay switching between source & timeline

First of all, my hat off to the creators of Shotcut! I was a professional video editor for 30 years, and I’m blown away by what an amazing program you’ve managed to create and keep improving!
However, one thing frustrates me a lot: a delay of 5 to 10 seconds (sometimes more) whenever I switch between Source and Project preview, and also whenever I grab a clip on the timeline to move it, trim it or replace it. I had huge issues before with stuttering preview playback during editing but those got solved (largely) when I switched to proxy editing. I do have a lot of sources: I’m making a 12-15 min puppet short film for which I’ve shot over 1300 clips, most of them around 10 to 15 seconds long. I’ve already edited the main segment (about 9’30”), and am now replacing shots here and there, tightening things up and adding a beginning and ending sequence, as well as credits (eventually). I’ve got one video track, plus one for the opening title, and 5 audio tracks with lots of sound effects and a bit of music; I don’t use the on-camera sound so I’ve muted the video clips. All the video currently in my project has been converted to proxies. I avoid using video thumbnails or audio waveforms. Shotcut hardly seems to use memory at all during, but there are big spikes in CPU activity. The editing is so tedious that I’m not sure if I can finish this project on Shotcut or have to look for another solution. Any ideas what I can do to improve the situation? Do I need a better computer, or will that not really help?

My system: HP Pavilion desktop 550-019, AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7, 12 cores 4C+8G, 3.5 GHz; 8 Gb RAM; Windows 8.1 (64 bit)