Audio synchronisation / alignement

It should be great to implement “Audio alignment” in order to replace a poor ‘live’ sound by a better one from mixing audio desk. it is possible with Audacity but manually i guess.

I am really, really new to Shotcut. I have been using Kdenlive to edit my videos. I am a professor of mathematics.

I just saw some videos about Shotcut and decided promptly to migrate. What a slick interface!!! What a clean MLT file!!! It would be great to have Kdenlive’s automatic audio alignment, though.

Right now, I am studying Kdenlive’s code. I’d like to try implementing it. Help would be very nice! I don’t really know anything about Shotcut.

I guess that usually one has a AV file and and audio file. I thought that, instead of Kdenlive’s “set audio reference”/“align audio to reference”, we could simply create a brand new producer with the audios aligned. This way, we avoid lots of click, click.

For example, when right-clicking the video in the main playlist (project bin), there could be an option to “replace the audio track”.

Or, if one selects both, the audio file and the AV file in the playlist, there could be an option to “merge both”. That is, replace the AV file audio.

Any suggestions, any recommendations, any volunteers? :slight_smile:

I think you are saying to create an MLT file with only the video and replaced audio joined by an audio mix transition. Then, open that MLT file as a clip in Shotcut? That might be a clever way to do it. But I think some people might have multiple video angles as well that they would want to synchronize.

I think it would be good to have a way to set one track as the “reference” audio track and then align all video clips on other tracks according to the reference. As long as you edit with “ripple” enabled, the clips will say synchronized as you edit.