Audio ducking

Hello friends. I am new to shotcut and wanted to know if this software has audio ducking? I am trying to add a voice over on top of background music and I need to lower and raise the levels so that the narration could be heard without the music overpowering it. I know I can do it manually with keyframes, but since my project is over an hour long, it makes a titanic task. Is there a simpler way to do it? I’d appreciate all your help.
Thank you so much.
Daniel

Hello Daniel,
No, Shotcut does not have audio ducking. You could do this by isolating all the musical parts corresponding to the comments and on which you apply a gain / volume filter to lower the levels. But I fear that this is a tedious task.
What I recommend to you and once your project is finished, is to individually export your music track and your comment track and process them in Audacity which has the Duck function. Once processed, you export your wav mix which you place in your Shotcut project instead of the two original tracks. In this case, your audio will be perfectly synchronized.
Good luck.

Auto Duck process simple youtube video I found.

Thank you so much. I tried doing something like that for the main audio since keyframing only works on each clip seperately and All my audio got out of sync. It’s a great software, but unfortunately is limited in features that almost every other editing software has

The best procedure for this would be to make all your video edits, export a wav file, import it into audacity, make the required adjustments and then import that into shotcut. Doing it this way will keep your duration identical and keep things in sync. I’ve used this for things such as echo reduction prior to the addition of the noisegate filter natively in shotcut.