Audio drop out every second or two after export

Hey everyone!

So I have a problem I’ve spent many hours trying to solve. I tried searching the internet and specifically this forum with no avail. I also did a lot of experimenting with settings. That being said I’m relatively new to the whole video editing thing. I have done maybe 10 videos. This has been a consistent problem for me across all videos.

I recorded my clips 1080p @60fps, which I intended to compile into a video for YouTube. All of the clips look great when I view them individually on my PC. But once I edit them and then export from Shotcut there is always an audio drop out every second or 2. It’s almost a tick with certain settings rather then a drop out. The video is always smooth (but could be better).

I assume this is an export setting problem. But like I said I spent many hours researching the right settings and tried a ton of setting combinations. I am at a loss. What would cause a rhythmic drop out every second or 2?

I have tried a ton of export settings. but it does this even when using the unchanged YouTube export preset.

Version 20.02.17

Windows 10 Home 64 bit

PC:
HP Spectre x360
Intel i7-8705G 3.1GHz
AMD Radeon RX Vega M
16gb DDR4 RAM
512 SSD

Thanks!
Will

You might experience something like this if your source files use a variable frame rate.

Can you post the properties of your file here.

Also, as an experiment, try the suggestion from here:

I had a suspicion my problem was related to variable frame rate. I’m not a pro so I just video with my phone, a Samsung Note 10. It does produce videos with a variable frame rate.