Working with Shotcut for two years and it is pretty good, also suggestions and rambling thoughts

Okay, I have been working with Shotcut for almost two years now and I am pretty happy with it. In the beginning, it did crash often. Even with shorter videos but that got quickly smoothed out.

The app never felt restrictive in a sense and it always did what I needed it to do. Sometimes I encountered a problem that seemed to not be solvable but because of the filter-system you could always couple together something.

Now even those coupled together solutions have been implemented as features, for example, “full rotation” with the size-and-position-filter.

I just wanted to show a bit of my journey with this post so here we go.

This was the first video I ever made with Shotcut. youtube link /H3dwYPYgJc4
I still like the core but I did not understand anything but Shotcut gave me the tools to actually make something in a manageable way.

This is probably the first video I was actually happy with. https://youtu.be/zSurK2B22ic
I understood how the app worked and I was improving on every aspect of video making. I think I also upgraded Shotcut which made the app more stable.

I also used Shotcut to make videos with IRL footage. youtube link /KQJPpJbyBR8
It is probably a good idea to learn how to color correct bc those videos are always super bright.

Even with my crappy setup, I managed to do some chromakeying with a green sheet. youtube link /ANJ7yT4Pk7U

One of the downsides of the program is that long videos are a bit harder to edit. Especially when you make a lot of cuts and you want to zoom in and out quickly. https://youtu.be/sCG98vs-m_A

Okay, now that I praised the app for the bad sides.

Size and Position solve most of my problems but there is no yaw-option. This is a basic feature of every editing program. Yaw can turn the source in a 3d space either along the horizontal line or vertical line of the source. There is no yaw-option as far as I know.