[Win] AMF bugs x2 with AV1 and H.264

What is your operating system?
Win 10 (RDNA3) & Win 11 (GCN 1.0)

What is your Shotcut version (see Help > About Shotcut)?
Tested with 24.02.29 & 24.04.13

Can you repeat the problem? If so, what are the steps?
Please excuse if I’m not an expert on these things, but I’ll try to keep it concise and brief:

1.) There doesn’t seem to be a sanity check for serving invalid parameters to AMF. In my case, GCN 1.0 can hardware-encode only H.264 up to 1080p60. Source material with a larger resolution will encode “normally”, not trigger an error message at the start. Resulting file only contains an audio stream.

2.) I bought a RX7600 specifically for AV1 support, but I simply couldn’t render any valid results by using Shotcut regardless of settings.

• Using default export settings, files are way too large in comparison to amf_H265 or sometimes even H264. Example for a 5 min 4K video of some old video game: H.264 (701mb), H.265 (221mb), AV1 (611mb). File sizes in OBS, also using AMD AV1, are as large as expected.

• Disregarding file size, every single rendered video thus far was broken. Audio is fine, but trying to skip ahead breaks the video stream and only statically shows the last frame. Happens in both VLC as well as Shotcut itself. No such problem with AV1 encoded through other means (AV1 software, AV1 hardware via OBS or Handbrake).

Hope I described the problem as best as possible. Thanks for reading.

That is not implemented pretty much for any encoder, hardware or otherwise. There would be a ton of code and testing to implement this for the many of the options of every encoder, bugs would be created as a result, and no one has volunteered to do it. Will you? The workaround is to read the export job log for clues when something goes wrong.

files are way too large in comparison