Weird mask glitch, affected by text & other track placement

Hi, I’m fairly new to Shotcut and loving it, but while making a “lower third” in my video, I had the following problems. Running Shotcut 19.12.31, using OS 10.10.5 on an iMac. Thanks for any help you can offer.

My file arrangement:
Video track 1 on top, with filters: Text: 3D, Text: Simple, and Mask: Simple Shape.
Video track 2 under that (copy of same clip but) with filter: Gradient
Video track 3 under that, which should not make any difference to the above tracks. Filter: Gradient

Anomaly 1

The tracks at the beginning of the project would not show the desired effect (below) with the purple bar at all, yet ones later in the file showed correctly. After a lot of trying to figure out why, I eventually realized that immediately after a cluster of short clips at the top halfway through the project, the purple effect showed as it should.

This makes no sense. After messing around with tracks, I tried putting the tracks that were showing correctly (that were after the cluster on top), below the tracks in the beginning where I needed the effect. Somehow this allowed the effect to show in the beginning of the project.

Anomaly 2

Not only does having the track located in the beginning affect the tracks above it, but clicking to “Show” or “Hide” this track changes the way the other two show, despite them both being set to Show, which should not allow a track under them to change what’s showing up from them.

Here is the goal format/image that I was able to get sporadically (with me looking stupid), followed by
Video tracks 1 and 2 set to Show while track 3 was set to Hide, and then the same with track 3 set to Show:

Messing around with them, I can sometimes get the purple and the text to show at the same time but it’s not easy

Anomaly 3