Voice over and audio from video mixed up together

Hello everyone. I’m new to this awesome and powerful tool. I’m gradually getting to know its functions but today I go stuck and without your help I won’t be able to move any further.

I’m making my first video (just for learning purposes.)

I have two tracks- one with video and second - with voice over. As you see, the clip is now playing in the place when only sound from voice track should be played because there is no video - green bar. Although I removed sound track from a video, when I play the clip I hear the voice over + audio attached to the video. Also have a look on the display- there is video although this part of video track doesn’t contain it. I hear voice over (which is fine) and recording from the video (which is bad) blended together.

It looks like there is other video plying in the background. I can’t get rid of it.

If my explanation isn’t clear I’ll capture my screen and show you exactly what problem I’m facing with.

regards, Alan

QDSOV thanks for replay but it doesn’t solve my problem. Please, have a look a the screenshot. Even when audio from video track is turned off I hear the voice. Strange thing for me is that when I hide the video track underneath it is placed another one with that sound audio attached which is mixed up with proper - voice over. You see?

OK - in your original screenshot the audio was still turned on on both tracks. Have you tried applying the “mute” audio filter to the track you seem to be having trouble with yet?

It’s a playhead or preview issue. It’s showing a different clip from where the playhead is located.
I’ve been studying this the past day trying to have the same issue, but no luck yet.

@Alan183, what are your systems specs? Operating System 32 bit or 64 bit?
Did you download Shotcut from the download link above in this forum?
If you’re in Windows 10, Start button, type in" System Information"
System Type -
Processor -
Installed Physical Memory -