Video takes over 10 hours to render!

Hi, I’m new to shotcut, and I’m created a video that’s about an hour long. After I was done with it, I left it to render at 7pm and let it render through the night, when I woke up at 6am, the rendering was still at 9%! I look at htop(I’m on Linux, htop is like Task Manager) and saw that Shotcut was still doing /usr/bin/melt -verbose -progress2 -abort <filename>! From my knowledge, that’s only the first stage of rendering! It didn’t even get to do ffmpeg, after more than 10 hours of running! Now, I expect the rendering to take a while, after all, I’m on a Thinkpad T480(Intel core i5-8250U processor), however I don’t expect it to take THAT long… For reference, I edited a 33 minute minute video earlier and it only took about 2 hours to render.
I didn’t do any complex edits, mostly just added text to my video because I made a lot of mistakes when I was recording my video… Here’s the contents of my Shotcut.mlt file as a reference: https://pastebin.com/yrHJ3uUU (I got this from the /tmp/ folder, as a Shotcut. file. Didn’t realize that a .mlt file was just an xml file). I also added the audio normalizing(two pass) filter, so I’m not sure if that’s what’s causing it to take a really long time. Thank you so mcuh for your help!

1 Like

That is wrong: melt is using FFmpeg libraries, and there is no second stage using ffmpeg directly.

added text to my video

That adds a lot of processing because images must be composited (text image on top of video image). It will probably go faster if you go to Export > Advanced > Video and enable Parallel Processing before starting the export. It is off by default because there is a small risk it will create some problems in the video output.

2 Likes

Thank you! I’ll try that!