Transition between tracks

Hi everyone,

i’m new to video editing, i have watched the first three tutorials. Sorry, only them.

I have recorded a screencast of a lesson, and an external video of it. I have loaded them in two tracks.

I would like to know how i can switch from one video to the other crossfading them.

Example: First 2 minutes, i would like to see the first video, from min 2 to min 3 the second video, from min 3 to min 6 the first one, from 6 to 9 the second one, and so on.

I have separated the audio and that one comes from a single source, no problem here.

I have loaded the tracks, but for now i have only been able to cut the video in parts, and to add fading from and to black for both tracks. Works, but i don’t find it optimal, e.g. if i want to change timings later.

Thank you in advance.

v 19.10.20 Linux.

I wonder what tutorial showed you this solution?
Just simply overlap one clip over the other in your desired time.
Or use the fade-in/fade-out filter by dragging the blinking point at the beginning and the end of the clips.

1 Like

Thank you.

The original situation was this one. Both video (they are only 2 and what i want is to switch between them a good number of times) have moreless the same length.

In the preview you can see the top one in the middle (it’s 4:3) and the other one behind (on the sides).

Set up your video tracks so they look like this.

Add fade in fade out to the upper track. Set both to Adjust opacity instead of fade with black. image

1 Like

Thank you but seems like what i did (exept from better transition) cutting the tracks a lot of times.

Both tracks have the same length and are time-synced.

I try to better explain what i would like to to:

See V1 from the beginning to min 2:00

Transition from V1 (crossfade?) to V2 and i would like to see only V2 from 2:01 to 3:00

Transition from V2 (crossfade?) to V1 and i would like to see only V1 from 3:01 to 6:00