"This file does not support seeking"

I’m fairly new to shotcut and video editing as a whole but I’ve sunk a couple dozen hours into shotcut so far and this is the first time seeing this error.
I dropped a normal MP4 into shotcut but it now says it cant use it and it is non-seekable. The weird thing is, i recorded it the same way I recorded everything else that i’ve edited on shotcut.
Background:
I’m editing a gameplay video and my recording software likes to split a whole recording into smaller recordings so I end up with a few MP4’s to deal with. It’s never been an issue before, I just drag them all in and stitch them together and they work. However, halfway through editing this video, I dragged the 3rd/4th chunk of the video and every subsequent chunk shows the same error. They’re all the exact same MP4 format, exactly the same details and everything. Anyone have any idea what I can do to fix this? Converting them into “editing friendly” bugs out the recording significantly, making it very choppy.

That is your only option.

making it very choppy.

Use preview scaling and proxy.

ok, thank you.
Do you have any idea why this problem occurred? Like I said, it happened randomly part way through a recording? Would it be a problem with my recording software?
(essentially, what causes an MP4 to become non-seeking so I can prevent it from happening.)

The recording software switched to variable frame rate. It might do this if the computer can’t keep up the normal frame rate due to too much stuff running at once. It could also be that all the files are variable frame rate, but the first three were so steady that they weren’t detected as VFR.

I’m not so sure. Sometimes i will import a file and it will say that it is a variable framerate but it’s no problem, i just use it anyways. These MP4’s are different for some other reason.