Technical Discussion: Frame Rates

In my experimentation with deinterlacing I have noticed that the output of certain video filters produce a double frame rate. Instead of the NTSC/ATSC 29.97 fps the output is 59.94 fps. However, I can play these files normally in a video player such as VLC.

I became interested in television perhaps 50 years ago and, although I never worked in that industry, for several years I worked as a volunteer editing video tapes for public access cable tv. We used 3/4 inch U-Matic cartridge tape. Which leads to my question…

In my head, even though technically trained, I think video identified as double the normal frame rate ought to play twice as fast! Questions:

1. Why does this not happen?
  2. Since it seems to not happen in our modern digital domain, then why don’t we produce all destination video in double frame rate since it would likely have smoother motion and fewer observable artifacts?

Bonus question: Some of our modern TVs have circuitry that boosts display fps to 120 and even 240 fps. Why not just push the envelope and do those frame rates?

-=Ken=-

Video filters cannot change the frame rate. You are probably misreading something - like clip properties vs. Master properties. You can have a 59.94 fps clip in a 29.97 fps project.

video identified as double the normal frame rate ought to play twice as fast

Frames are dropped or repeated as-needed to adapt to the project frame rate. In my example above, every other frame is dropped from the clip.

why don’t we produce all destination video in double frame rate since it would likely have smoother motion

Because it creates bigger files that need more bandwidth. Because some people do not like the look of high frame rate for certain types of video, typically movies - film look.

Why not just push the envelope and do those frame rates?