Stuttering and memory leak, Is this normal?

So I’ve been using ShotCut for a few months and I’ve consistently had this issue and just worked through it. With some issues with the latest update [23.12.15] and had to revert [23.11.29]. I finally really dug into it and wondered IF MAYBE … it’s me that’s got something wrong.

I work on large files (2-3 hr 60fps gameplay captures) and when I play back, even just on an audio track for my voiceover. I notice the RAM while watching the task manager and it generally just stair steps up, but I notice the stutter happens right as it ticks up each time. Then eventually it maxes out and crashes.

I notice if I move a clip or change something it will reset the memory and start over, but tends to go faster as I keep doing this until I just have to restart ShotCut.

Let me see if I can get some image links here:
RAM Stair Step: Screenshot-2023-12-31-113147 hosted at ImgBB — ImgBB
RAM Reset after clip change: Screenshot-2023-12-31-113557 hosted at ImgBB — ImgBB

My setup: (Win11) [ShotCut v231129]
Intel Core i7 at4.2ghz
48GB RAM
RTX2080ti [MSI afterburner OC on the 2080 (it’s water cooled)]

• 2nd card GTX1070ti running a 3rd monitor (No Shotcut window on that monitor)
    C:\ (OS) 500GB Crucial NVME
    V:\ (Video files and project files) 4TB USB 7200RPM disk
    S:\ (Proxy folder) 500GB Samsung 860 EVO SSD

I record the videos with Geforce Experience to the V:\ volume, then I create a project using ShotCut in that same volume. I load the clips and create proxies stored on the S:\ volume. Then save and restart the project and work exclusively with those proxies without preview scaling.

Is there a setting I’ve got wrong with my setup or something I’m missing here? Or is this just the way I should expect ShotCut to work?

I’m planning to upgrade my RAM to 64GB but I figure that 48GB is enough for almost anything. I’ve got 100GB free on the C drive but am planning to double that as well with a new NVME card.