Some clips suddenly stop functioning

I’m a vocational instructor working for a Berlin media academy and we use Shotcut in some introductory video production classes. While I work on a Windows system (and have had very few problems at all with Shotcut), my students use Macs that are supplied by the academy. Several of them have experienced the following problem:

Mac Book Pro (2019)
CPU: 2,6 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7
RAM: 16 GB
Graphics: AMD Radeon Pro 5300M (4 GB).

Shotcut-Version: 22.04.25.

Occasionally, a video clip that used to play perfectly fine will suddenly only show as a solid white color when played either from the timeline or from the Playlist. The thumbnail still looks okay but there’s no way to get it to play. What’s more, even trying to re-import the original video footage will not change anything – it seems as if this particular footage clip has been “destroyed” once and forever within a particular Shotcut project.

We found a couple of workarounds:

1. Create a new Shotcut project – the same footage will work fine in the new project (but still not in the old one).

2. Open the Properties window for the faulty clip – the Video tab is no longer accessible (even though it was a minute before). But if we manually create a new Proxy clip from the Properties window, both the Proxy clip and the original clip are usable again.

I did see the entry in the FAQ list „All I see is white or green instead of video, and I know there is video in this file….“ but the suggested solution „make sure GPU Processing is disabled in Settings“ doesn’t apply to Apple computers, does it? The item in the Shotcut Settings menu doesn’t even exist, nor do we seem to be able to access OpenGL in the Mac system settings.