Shot cut is very polished .... but

I have noted that there is an issue with Shot cut and videos recorded with VFR ( Variable Frame Rate ) and have read many posts from people saying that they have issues with audio going out of sync.

Now this one suggestion is for the authors as a possible way to get around this issue.

Create a fixed rate timeline within shotcut and decode the VFR input into it, if there is a location within shot cut that no video is found for a particular frame because VFR has taken care of it render the previous frame with a tag attached saying do not copy to output ( no audio would be attached to this frame obviously and it would just be filler )
This should keep the frames in sync for the audio, the only difference being that when the video is being written at the end of the process any tagged frames would not be included in the output.

I have done some programming but I am no expert by any means I just thought I’d throw this idea out there as a possible albeit kludgy way of getting around the audio sync issue as apart from this you have an extremely polished product, one by which I was quite impressed - if this is not the solution - hopefully it might spark something that is.

Best of luck and I hope you manage to solve it.

VFR will not be supported directly any time soon if ever! This is already addressed by detection and conversion. See the release note for v17.12.

Thanks for the response I recently tried out Sony Vegas 15 and was comparing to Shot cut, I actually prefer shot cut for what I am doing and have started using it, while I understand Vegas is for broadcast work the thing that tipped the scales for me was that Shot Cut didn’t interfere with the colour palette in the way that Vegas does in order to keep things “broadcast legal”.

I do have a couple of other queries…

1. Is there a list anywhere for all the available options in the Other tab for when I export x264?