Saves in random frame rate

I’m new to shotcut and just downloaded version 22.04.25.

I’ve been having a lot of problems trying to export files. If I put 16 fps then it saves it as a random fps. Frame rates over 100 are frequently exported. I tried using different codecs like MPEG, but it just does the same thing.

Long story, I’m using a wolverine film scanner to scan old 8mm movie film into mp4s. The wolverine has an ongoing firmware bug that allows it to only save at 20 frames per second, even though the original 8 mm was 16 frames per second.

I can set the play rate to 0.8 and save it as 16 FPS and it will work maybe one out of 10 times doing the exact same steps. Other times generate random frame rates.

Obviously, this is a bug, but I was wondering if there was an earlier version that works properly when it comes to saving the video at the correct frame rate?

Is there a way to trick this version into saving at 16 fps? I tried lowering the frame rate setting to 8fps, but it ignored it and just saved it at a random fps anyway.

You need to use Settings > Video Mode > Custom > Add… instead of changing Export > Advanced > Video (frequently mentioned here).
You did not say what version of “MPEG” because they do not all support arbitrary frame rates. Just use the export defaults for now (H.264 MPEG-4).
How do you know the resulting frame rate? Open the result in Shotcut; what does it say in its Properties?

Does the project use a specific video mode with a specific frame rate, or does it use Automatic detection?

I tried the settings custom thing and it makes no difference. I selected a previously generated custom setting which is at 16fps did another export and this time it was 57fps.

I am primarily exporting mp4, but selecting mpeg-2 got 24fps. I haven’t tried avi or mjpeg yet. I’m thinking if the codec had a problem with the frame rate, it would have said something.