S-Log workflow suggestions

I am a video editing newbie and have just started filming in S-LOG3 using a Sony ZV-1,
and wanted your opinion on what could be the correct workflow when working
with S-Log videos.

Technically, using the Sony PP8 is using S-Log3 gamma and the S-Gamut3.Cine color mode, see ZV-1 Manual: ZV-1 | Help Guide | Picture Profile

Intuitively, I think this should be the filter pipeline:

• exposure correction
  • white balance
  • LUT 3D (to transform from S-Log stuff to rec709)
  • (…other color corrections…)

I am still confused about 8bits, 10bits and what would be the best S-Log version to use, so I will probably experiment also using S-Log2 and HLG.

I found this LUTs Software & Downloads - Sony Pro from Sony but seem to not apply to the ZV-1.

Do you have any documentation to learn or workflow you use that satisfies you?
Thanks!

I think your pipeline is correct, there are however a few issues you need to think about.

Firstly, S-Gamut3.Cine is very wide, so wide it has non-visible primaries. Your main problem with using the LUT is that LUTs work in R’G’B’ space but your video files are in Y’CbCr. So you need to use the correct matrix to convert between the two and I’m not sure Shotcut has it. If you use the 709 matrix, you’ll get some hue shifts across the image.

You should be able to white balance the input using a CbCr vectorscope, but note that bars shouldn’t line up with the 709 targets.

The other thing to remember is that the LUT will have expected levels - unlike any other format I can think of, SLog has black at 10 bit 95 rather than 64. There’ll also be a target value for diffuse white in the input video - the further you move from that, the more likely the LUT won’t work well.