Random crashes/hangs

Hi!
I’m new to shotcut(1 week), and so far I love it, but I have some problems with stability.
No matter what size/lenght the files I edit, at random events shotcut will crash or hang.

It can happen when I drag from playlist or preview to timeline, it can happen when I zoom, change speed, cutting from timeline, sometimes when I try to undo.

Sometimes it just outright crashes, other times it hangs.

I can’t give any reproducable examples as all crashes have been random, the closest I can get is when it last crashed while dragging a clip from playlist to timeline(Faulting module: ntdll.dll), then on restart I load autosave, twice in a row it crashed when dragging from playlist, the third time I did not load, opened the files and tried again from scratch, this time it did not crash.

The formats I edit are mostly nvenc h.264 from OBS Studio, I am currently trying to convert to prores to see if it alleviates any of the problems I have experienced.

I know this is a bit vague, but it’s all I’ve got.
I also have application event logs and shotcut log of the last handful of crashes/hangs if needed.

Thank you for any help if possible.
Keep up the great work :slight_smile:

My Shotcut version: 17.11.02
System:
OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Pro version 1709
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299.19
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570S CPU @ 2.90GHz, 2901 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BaseBoard Manufacturer ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 32.0 GB

Stop using variable frame rate videos. OBS should let you use constant. I don’t know if it works in conjunction with nvenc or not.

OBS Studio uses constant as default, apparently does not even support vfr, as such all my current video files are constant(Checked with MediaInfo).

I usually mix with both 60 and 30 fps, could this cause the problems?

Turn off GPU Processing in Settings.

Thank you, that seems to have solved my issues.