PRESETS Incomplete? (Affects YouTube Video Export Function)

Hello Everyone,

I am preparing an article on Shotcut for my blog, and I have come across what seems like a strange behaviour with respect to the Shotcut PRESET for YouTube, so I’d like to ask your input/advice on whether I am missing something?

I am the first to admit that I am new to Shotcut, and this may be simply a function of me not knowing something obvious. Here’s what happens. When I (browse, load or save) the Shotcut PRESETs, I notice the following:

• Not all of the configuration information is being captured. This creates a “mix and match” situation for the Export function when I browse through several PRESETs that sometimes results in undesired behaviour.

• The PRESET information is not presented in the order that it appears in the tabs, which caused me some confusion until I figured out what the parameters meant (and re-ordered them).

Unfortunately, not all of the information presented in the Advanced tab is captured in the corresponding PRESET, which I find unfortunate and a little disappointing.

I have taken the liberty to enumerate the values in all of the tabs (Video, Codec, Audio, Other) that appear normally in my installation, and I also noted which pieces of information do not seem to be captured in the PRESET and therefore not repeatable across Shotcut installations (or even Shotcut sessions on the same machine):

0 Format f=mp4
1 Resolution (Width) width=1920
2 Resolution (Height) height=1080
3 Aspect ratio aspect=1.77778
4 Frames/sec NOT CAPTURED IN YOUTUBE PRESET
5 Frame Density (virtual) NOT CAPTURED IN YOUTUBE PRESET
6 Scan mode progressive=1
7 Field order top_field_first=2
8 Deinterlacer deinterlace_method=yadif
9 Interpolation rescale=bilinear
10 Parallel Processing NOT CAPTURED IN YOUTUBE PRESET
11 Codec vcodec=libx264
12 Rate control (video) NOT CAPTURED IN YOUTUBE PRESET
13 Quality crf=23
14 GOP g=15
15 Fixed GOP NOT CAPTURED IN YOUTUBE PRESET
16 B frames bf=2