Preferable improvements

Hi Shotcut staff , and all , I’m new in this forum , and i discover this nice video editing software , from about 20 day . I 've editing any video , and I have find that it’s very nice software , yes I think that , more improvement are in the future , I think , that one of that , can be rendering in background , for make fluid preview , and a instant preview at mouse move as it in Final cut pro . I think that this features can improve daily use, and improve fast working . I use in the same laptop (this one with I’m write) Catalina osx , Linux Mint , and W10 , in osx I use Final cut , and have fluid preview , when mouse scroll over clips , i think in Linux Mint it’s possible have the same result . But I’m not a programmer ( not good ) . Any way if you have any time , i think this improvement , can be many appreciated for who decide to use Sc. Many thank’s and best regards .Dino

That’s a great idea, but a very complicated request. It has been discussed already here:

We do export in the background, and I doubt we will ever do background render/cache.

instant preview at mouse move

This is called “skim” and you can find it on the keyboard shortcuts reference. In the latest version, you must hold Shift+Alt to permit it.

Austin ,I’ve read the post that you have report , ehm you have make an exaustive scheme , of complexity… I know that everything is easy in words, but in fact it is not. Anyway ,if we could take advantage of the CPU and GPU a little more, we could have a slightly more fluid preview.
I’ve try to copy timeline to a source and i’ve see improvemente in realtime effect preview are now more fluid .
I don’t know , this is the functionality I was looking for.
Also yesterday I tried, the filter stabilizes, with short videos made by a drone in FHD (without gimball) simply fantastic the result obtained. So it is clear that this software embodies a lot of potential, and I am convinced that it will improve further.