Possible regression in 17.11

I have been using Shotcut for Windows for over 6 months and yesterday upgraded from 17.10 to 17.11. Several of my video source files now take many minutes for Shotcut to load and start playback, or they fail to load at all. The screen is completely white during playback, but audio seems okay. They are MPEG-2 TV recordings.

Reverting back to 17.10 fixed the issue. The videos load immediately and allow editing again.

If there are things to try or debug info I can gather, please let me know.

I downloaded 17.12 today and see the same regression. I have a 3.4 Gig 1920x1080 .mpg file that quickly opens in 17.10 for editing. When I try to open this file in 17.12 it hangs for several minutes and I get Windows (not responding) messages. The source file also opens and plays properly in the VLC media player application.

I uninstalled 17.10 and rebooted my PC before installing 17.12. But still see the hang. What can I do to diagnose or correct the issue?

FFmpeg was not upgraded between v17.10 and v17.11. I am not sure what change could have caused it. Maybe something related to variable frame rate detection. You can upload a short sample clip to https://shotcut.org/notes/support-upload/

The shortest example I currently have is 3.4gigs/31 minutes. When I trim the video to 5, 10, 15, or 20 minutes in length it plays okay in 17.12. Can I/should I/dare I upload the whole thing to the support-upload URL?

Or perhaps video size relative to system size is part of the problem? I’m running on an i3, 64-bit with only 8GB of RAM.

You can upload that large, but not sure if you really want to. Can you make a new recording that is shorter and shows the problem? Also, you can dump the information in Properties and Properties > Menu > More information… here. Alternatively, you can use the MediaInfo program to dump properties.