Please help! My video project is gone. I don't know what to do

Please help.

I am fairly new to Shotcut and have been using it to edit a 6 minute extensive video for work. It has been going well and I was in the final stages today. I always save it within Shotcut as I work. When I would close Shotcut, and then open it to work on it later, it always appeared in “recent projects” as the mlt file, I would select it, open it and continue to work. No problem.

I worked on it most of today, closed but did not power off my laptop. I just opened it to continue working. Opened Shotcut and for the first time NOTHING appears in “recent projects”. No mlt file.
I can’t find it anywhere. I tried restarting shotcut, restarting my computer etc. Nothing.

I tried to search for an mlt file in the start menu and one shows up but I can’t open it. I also believe it may be an older version…I’m not sure. Do I try to move that mlt file into shotcut somehow?

Please I’m desperate. It has been months of work. :frowning:

We do not know where you saved files on your system. Since Recent is empty it seems you may have reinstalled and turned on the option to remove all of Shotcut’s settings from the Registry. That will clear the Recent list. There is also an option in Shotcut’s settings to clear the recent list when you exit because some people want that for privacy in certain scenarios. Maybe that got turned on by a stray mouse click. The default location for saving project files is in My Documents. So, look there and look in the Videos folder as well. If you cannot find it and do not have a backup system in place, you really should consider doing that.

Hi. Thank you for your response. I’m not sure what you mean by reinstalled. Reinstalled shotcut? No, i used it, closed it for an hour and opened the program and recent was gone.