No Audio Track for .mp4 files in Mac OS X Mojave

I have been using iMovie for several years and I wanted to try out Shotcut. Mp4 files load fine and play nicely. The Audio Peak Meter registers the stereo response, but there is no audio track, which is needed to boost response for differently microphoned speakers in the videos.The Show Audio Waveforms is checked. Also, there are not thumbnails despite the fact that the Show Video Thumbnails is checked.

I’ve tried several different videos from several sources (Web and iPhone). I also tried a .mov to see if there was any differences. So, in every file I have opened, the video plays and the audio track is heard, but the audio cannot be edited. As of now, this promising application cannot help me.

I am running Mac OS X Mojave (Ver. 10.14.3) on a Mac Mini (2019).

Shotcut is not like other NLEs. When you add a video to a video track on the timeline the audio is not separated from the video. You can use audio filters to affect the audio, video filters to affect the video, when both are on the same track.

00%20Video

If you prefer having the audio on a separate track you can do it one of two ways.

1. Use the detach audio function. That removes the audio from the video clip and puts it on a separate audio track.

00%20Detach

00%20Detached

1. Create an audio track. Copy the video to the audio track.

Sauron, Thank you for your reply.
I don’t think I accurately described my problem. Within iMovie I have certainly used, modified, and detached audio tracks. The problems is that for Shotcut for the Mac OS when a .mp4 file is opened the is NO audio track. Let me illustrate:

Here is a screenshots of a lecture video I am working on.

In Shotcut:

Because I am a new member, I can’t show you the iMovie version, but it looks like your initial image except there is only the V2 track.

As you can see, there is no audio track or thumbnails below the timeline. It may be that Shotcut on a Mac lacks these features.

Regards,
Don