Newbie: How to get rid of blank excess at end of video

Hi, everyone.

I’m new to Shotcut, so if this is a dumb question, then I guess it can be expected from a newbie…lol.

I’ve edited my video and exported it. I’m happy with it apart from the fact that the actual footage is 3 minutes long, but the exported video is in excess of 6 minutes long with the additional minutes being black screen time. How did I do that?..lol.

I went back and looked at the project file in Shotcut, and I can see that there is a long green strip which continues after the end of the movie for the excess time. So, I’m guessing I have to delete this, but I can’t figure out how to do it.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Michaela

Right click the green strip and click remove.

Hi, Sauron. Thanks for your reply. However, the excess exists after the final clip (not between clips as shown in your screenshot), and when I first noticed it, I tried to remove it as i had previously done with other gaps between clips with no problems, I couldn’t. In fact, the right-click context menu doesn’t even appear on that part of the project :disappointed: eek!

Any further suggestions?

Nope. I’ll get back to you if I find something.:frowning:

What happens if you click on the green strip and press Ctrl X?

If OverlordTomala’s Ctrl X method doesn’t get rid of the green strip.

Here’s my suggestion.

Create a new video track. Copy or move the video to the new video track then delete the original video track with the green strip.

1 Like