Need to create video in less than 20 hours, and screwed

Will make this brief, I have never used shotcut before in my life, and trying to create a rather complex video that I have to finish in less than 20 hours (only have experience with Windows Movie Maker)… I am having serious issues with dragging a video track to the right to last the full duration of the video, it has a red line and I can only drag it by minuscule amounts, but I can drag it to the left fine (see picture A), for no reason my brain comprehends…

the second and final issue I need resolved is transitions… I have a image in the background (pink), and when one image transitions to the next, it disappears and goes black (see image B and C)

P.S: If someone helps me resolve these two issues, I guarantee you are going to heaven, it is all I have to offer

Picture B

And picture C

If I understand correctly, you mean that you want to stretch the video clip on track V1 to make it as long as the audio clip, which I guess will be the length of you project.

A video clip has a fixed duration, so you can’t stretch it to make it longer. Shotcut can’t create footage out of nothing.
Take a 12-inch (30cm) ruler for example, you can’t pull on one end of the ruler to make it 15 inches long.

The exception to this is if your clip was originally a part of a longer clip.

Here’s an example:
In the first video bellow, the clip in my Source panel is 12 seconds long. If I move it to the Timeline, I can’t stretch it, as I explained above.
If I go back to the Source panel, trim one end of the clip and move it also to the timeline, the resulting clip will be shorter than the original, and I will be able to stretch it up to it’s original length, but not more than it’s original length.

One way to make a clip longer though is to slow it down.