Mp3 and M4p music files not working in Shotcut

Hey guys, I’m fairly new to this software and video editing in general. A few days ago I downloaded a song (m4p format) from iTunes and when I imported it into Shotcut, there’s no sound at all. I tried adding it to both an audio track and a video track but neither worked. I made sure the tracks were not muted and the audio slider was sitting at “0”. The file itself plays just fine in iTunes. I then downloaded an mp3-format song from a different software, and this time Shotcut wouldn’t even let me import the file. There were no error messages or any notifications at all, it just wouldn’t get imported when I tried to drag the file into the playlist or the timeline. I tried using iTunes again earlier today, and the first song I downloaded couldn’t get imported at all, while the second song could get imported but had so sound, just like the first time I tried doing this (both songs are still in m4p format). I’m using Shotcut on Windows 10 64 bits. I would really appreciate some help, thanks in advance.

I read this about the m4p file format

A file with the M4P file extension is an iTunes Audio file, or sometimes called an iTunes Music Store Audio file. It’s really just an AAC file that’s copy-protected using a proprietary [DRM] technology created by Apple.

Perhaps this will affect importation.

I tried several mp3 and m4a files and had no problem importing them into Shotcut. They were not copy-protected files.

Can you share that mp3 file (or the features) to see what’s going on?

1 Like

Hi, thanks for the reply! I can’t upload the mp3 file (got the “the file you are trying to upload is not authorized” message) but here’s some info on the file image

And when I try to drag the mp3 file into the timeline, it appears normal but when i let go of my left click, nothing happens, the file is simply not imported.