Many problems when trying to edit a vertical video

Hello! I’m somewhat new to Shotcut and I’ve been trying to edit a vertical video I filmed on my pixel 5 for hours now, what I’m doing is somewhat simple but I’ve had issues on pretty much every step I’ve never had when working with normal 16:9 horizontal videos.

So the basics of what I’m trying to do, its take a 9:16 1080p video filmed on my Pixel 5, add audio recorded separately and then add an image with a couple effects as an intro to the beginning.

At first when I tried to do this, the edited video looked great in the viewer, but when I exported it it appeared at a much lower resolution with huge black bars on every side inside a 1920x1080 16:9 box. The properties of the file showed it as 16:9 as well.

I finally managed to fix this by changing the Option: Settings > Video mode > Non Broadcast > Vertical

But now, when I add in the image on the top track with a transparent background it shows the bottom tracks video in the same way as before - A teeny tiny video with a small resolution between 4 giant black bars - until the image on the top track is finished playing, then the bottom tracks video returns to its correct size and fills up the viewer at its full resolution.

I’ve tried:

1. Adding a Crop filter to the top track and/or to the image in the track individually (nogo)

2. Adding a resize filter to the top track and/or to the image in the track individually. (nogo)

3. Right clicking the track and going to properties to attempt to resize the entire tracks resolution - this part confuses me because it says its at 1000 x 1000 resolution, the same as the image, but it doesn't give me the option to change the tracks resolution like I would normally see.

If there’s already been forums asking about this I do apologize, I couldn’t for the life of me find a video or forum post about this issue. ChatGPT was also no help.