Loss of audio quality in Shotcut?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Shotcut and I have a question re. audio. I am producing music tutorial video clips with main focus on sound quality.

Way of working:

1. I use Reaper (music editing software) to edit the audio material in sync with the video. (Reaper is great for sound editing, but rather limited for video editing)

2. After rendering from Reaper I load this video/audio clip in Shotcut to edit the video a bit.

3. Then I export/render this video from Shotcut (as mp4).

When I playback this final export version then (no matter if VLC, Widows Media Player, iTunes or Youtube), I get the impression of slight loss in sound quality (especially high frequencies) compared to the audio track before editing in Shotcut - even though I have done no sound editing in Shotcut.
Also strange: filesize is only half as big as before editing in Shotcut.

Is it possible that Shotcut affects the audio track quality post video editing and rendering, without touching any sound editing options in Shotcut?

Do I have to adjust settings in Shotcut in a certain way to keep the audio quality exactly as before editing?

Hope I made myself clear, sorry English is not my first language.

Thanks for tips in advance!

BR,
Emil

Very clear!

Simple answer - “Yes”.

Here is a VLC Tools:Codec Information from a video I made on Shotcut this afternoon.

Sample Rate: 48000 HZ

With the Nyquist Limit (laws of physics) at F/2, that is at 24kHz, which means there has to be a “brickwall” filter somewhere below that, which means that somewhere in the 17+ kHZ you are going to start seeing roll-off.

1 Like

There is an option in Shotcut to double that Sample rate, to 96 kHz, but will it be playable on YouTube etc? That, I do not know.

I would suggest you look at your before-Shotcut material and your after Shotcut, both, on the Codec Information of VLC and compare them.