Long export time

I prepare recorded classes and other videos for posting. My task is straightforward and simple, but the export to mp4 (YouTube/1280x720) typically takes longer than the length of the original mp4.

Today is longer than usual, I’m doing a 2 hour video and it is taking over 4 hours to export. Is that normal? Or maybe it’s a function of my laptop configuration?

The editing I do includes adding a 6 second intro video (3mb), a reduce size logo for the length of the video itself, and a 15 second text filter as a date stamp (three tracks). The logo is a 500kb png reduced to 25% and positioned in the upper left corner.

I realize this is a minor issue compared to some of the “Similar” topics provided, but I’m wondering if there’s something I can do to speed it up. I’m a total video novice so maybe there are some changes I can make that will help.

I’m using a Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 9310 running Win11, 11th Generation Intel(R) Core™ i7-1165G7 Processor (12MB Cache, up to 4.7 GHz), Intel(R) Iris Xe Graphics, 16GB 4267MHz LPDDR4x Memory Onboard.

Thanks,

• Jeff

This means the compositor is being used for the entire video to merge tracks. It’s like processing two videos (tracks) instead of just one. Export time will take longer than the original video partly because it’s twice as much video being processed. Even though the logo is tiny, the alpha channel for the entire frame still has to be processed to mark the non-logo area as see-through.

Having said that, the compositor is probably not the slowest link in the chain. If speed is the goal, go to the Advanced > Other tab on the Export panel, and add preset=veryfast to the list of lines. The quality difference will probably not be noticeable, but the speed difference could be significant.