Joining Projects

I have been using Shotcut for a few months now and I just love the control it gives me without being dependent on a commercial enterprise.

My question is that I have two separate projects (so two separate mlt files) and I would like to concatenate the clips from one to the clips from the second and create a single mlt file for further editing. Is there any way of doing this please?

Thanks Bill

Load your first project, whatever mlt file you want to play first, then go to file > Open MLT XML as clip, and navigate to and select your second project file, and it will load the project in the source player. You can then add this to the timeline and continue working from there.

However this will remove the ability to edit existing filters/transitions and such on the second project, since it’s reading it as a clip and not a whole project. You can still add new effects to it, but can’t change the ones loaded with it.

2 Likes

At the first step “load 1st project”, I would add “save it as a new project”.
Or using mtl copies done before starting.

Just in case it mess up and crashes all the work done !

@Keno40 Yes, that is a good idea to keep backups of important project files. :slight_smile:

Thank you for your help, lauren and Keno40. The ‘insert as a clip’ will solve some of my problems, but doesn’t give me quite what I am looking for. Perhaps an example will help.

I have videos of a number of my daughter’s soccer (football outside the US) matches. I have a separate project for each match that I have already edited in Shotcut to contain the clips of her I need. For a new video I am putting together for her scholarship application, I now need to get all clips into one project and do a NLE to group all the passes together, all the shots together, all the tackles together etc. I would also like to further trim a number of the clips and remove others entirely.